Stories @ TCAT

Nineteen distinguished Tennessee College of Applied Technology -Jacksboro students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society on Thursday, August 4, 2016. The purpose of the National Technical Honor Society is to promote student excellence and leadership in career and technical education and to recognize educational achievements. Further, TCAT-Jacksboro acknowledges students strong in worker character skills, such as:  exhibiting leadership and initiative; timeliness; taking pride in your work; using team skills; using proper attitudes; exampling quality of work;  following instructions;  being at work dependably; being honest and responsible; maintaining composure and self- control; and  maintaining professional dress. The induction ceremony was held at LaFollette United Methodist Church. Advisor Chandy Hensley greeted the students and 100 plus guests. Interim Director Debbie Petree congratulated the students on their outstanding achievements and challenged them in their future endeavors to strive for continued success. The keynote speaker was Mrs. Tracie Davis, Chief Executive Director of the Campbell County Children’s Center.  She encouraged the students that no matter what obstacles life may present, your passions will help you prevail. Additionally, she urged the inductees to continue in their development of leadership abilities and passion for a continued thirst for learning. Faculty and staff members Leann Adkins and Michael Hurt, Kelli Shipley and Dave Yassemdis assisted in the induction ceremony. Other faculty members in attendance were Betty Leach.  The following students were honored: Phillip Ausmus, Teresa Ayers, Jordan Beaty, Kandi Cornett, Beth Hopper, Jordan Kellogg, Emily Lowe, Kathy Mastin, Christina Nunn, Antasia Orick, Rebecca Peterson, Jonathan Settles, Crystal Stagnolia, Teasa Steakley, Ashley Walden, Rodney Wilson, Steven Wilson, Stephanie Wilson, Jonathan Yoakum.